Other countries that got independence on August 15
Other countries that got independence on August 15

Other countries that got independence on August 15

You would be surprised to know that India is not the only country to get independence on August 15, but there are 5 other countries also in the world.

These countries celebrate their independence day as a national day.  Out of these five countries, some celebrate their national day on 15th August, whereas other countries celebrate on some other remarkable days.

We all know that India got freedom on 15th August 1947.  Every year on this date, Indian people celebrate it as Independence Day with great pomp and fervour.

Besides this, the Prime Minister of India hoists the national flag at Delhi Red Fort and addresses the country.  Most importantly, we celebrate this date as a national festival.

Indians organise several events and cultural programmes all over the country.  Not only, we remember the sacrifice of our freedom fighters but also swear to keep the unity and integrity of our country.

Now, you must be curious to know about those five countries to get independence on August 15.

But you would also want to know the reason to select the date August 15 for the independence of India.

So before knowing about these five countries, let us learn about the facts behind this particular date.


Reason for selecting the date of independence



There is an interesting fact as to why the date of 15th August was chosen for the independence of India.

It was none other than Lord Mountbatten who decided August 15 for the independence of India.  He got remarkable achievement in his life on this date, so he considered August 15 to be lucky for himself.

On that date, the Japanese army had surrendered before the allied countries in World War II.  Lord Mountbatten was the commander of the allied forces.

In this way, 15th August 1947 became not only the second anniversary of Japan’s surrender for England but also the first Independence Day for India.


Lord Mountbatten
Lord Mountbatten with Indian leaders

However, India is not the only country to mark Independence Day on 15th August. There are five other countries that got independence on this date.

Let’s have a glance at these countries of the world.


Republic of Congo


The country is also known as Congo-Republic or simply the Congo.  Its capital city is Brazzaville.

It is interesting to know that there is another country namely the Democratic Republic of Congo which is its neighbouring country.   It has been named after the river Congo which flows across the country.


A brief history of independence


The Republic of Congo had come under French rule in 1880.  This central African country got freedom from French colonization on August 15, 1960, thus only after the slavery of 80 years.

A catholic priest and nationalist played an important role in the freedom of the country.  His name was Fulburt Youlou.

The French government agreed to grant Youlou the right to govern the nation as an independent state.  He became the first president of independent Congo.


How people of Congo celebrate Independence day


On this day, the government organises a public parade in all 40 countries.  The president, soldiers and politicians take part in the parade.

During the evening, people gather outside the parliament building to watch the fireworks.  The Congolese people enjoy the party until night.


soldiers of Congo taking part in independence parade
Soldiers of Congo taking part in independence parade | Image: Culture Trip


North Korea


This is an East Asian country constituting the northern part of the Korean Peninsula. North Korea, a Soviet Union administered zone, gained independence from Japan on August 15, 1945, after the latter’s surrender in World War II.

However, the government was formed after three years in 1948. The country was officially named as the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.


South Korea


The US administered zone- South Korea was established in 1948 when the efforts of the unification of Korea failed. South Korea is a highly developed country in the world.

Most importantly, Korean citizens enjoy the world’s fastest internet connection speeds and the longest years of tertiary education in the world.

The country celebrates the day of independence as Gwangbokjeol (the day of light returned).




Officially the Kingdom of Bahrain is an island country of Persian Gulf. The country declared its independence from the British colonial rules on August 15, 1971.

However, Bahrain celebrates its National Day on 16 December each year.  On this date, the former ruler Isa Bin Al Salman Khalifa ascended to the throne.

The people of Bahrain have great respect for this person as the country became stable and modern under his leadership.


How people celebrate National Day


People celebrate this day with fireworks displays, cultural shows, contests, exhibitions and announcement of the new government projects.




This is the world’s sixth smallest country. Liechtenstein got freedom from German rule on 15th August 1866 and celebrates the occasion as a national day since 1940.

The country is bordered by Switzerland and Austria.

If you liked the article, please give your feedback in the comment box.


Also Read :


10 Unknown Women Freedom Fighters Of India


10 Interesting And Incredible Facts About India


15 Major Contributions Of India To The World


Abrogation Of Article 370 And Future Of Jammu & Kashmir


Jharkhand Cadre IAS Glorifies The Country By Scoring 104.44% Marks
Sanjeev Kumar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *